Traits

It’s funny that as your kids get older, you notice the traits and characteristics that you have passed on to them. All to often, it is the less desirable ones. The past few years of my life have been difficult to say the least. During this time, I have had to do a lot of soul searching. I have tried to become a better person. While trying to change myself, I have quickly found out that I have instilled all of my bad traits into my children. 😒. They are judgmental, sarcastic little smartasses!! I now find myself trying to correct them. You know, tell them don’t be like me. Maybe they will get it someday, but it is probably not helping when you catch yourself laughing at something they say or do that is wrong on so many levels!! Despite our trials, we still laugh whether it is appropriate at the time or not. Like the other day on the way to school, we were listening to the radio. We listen to “The Bob & Tom Show” in the mornings on the way to school. (as I said, no “Mother of the Year” awards anytime soon). They were talking about fantasy football team names. One guy wrote in that his was called “The Jackson Four”!! We laughed and laughed, but you know morally it’s wrong. Also, my youngest was singing a song titled, “Turtles and Whores”, by a comedian from the show. So, what do you do? I give them structure without being overbearing and let them have some fun. Hopefully, serial killers don’t sing “Turtles and Whores” on a regular basis!! 😜. MAM

20120828-102328.jpg

Leave a Reply

