Family…

WARNING: This post could possibly be time consuming and a bit rambling at times. Please humor me. 😊

Family. It’s a funny little word, isn’t it? That word means something different to almost everyone. I seem to be having difficulty with that word in recent years. It’s funny how they can make you so happy and cut you to the core. I love my family more than anything, always will. I can’t fathom anything that could possibly change that. I refer to “my family” as my husband, my two sons, our three dogs, and our rabbit. 😊. About two years ago, a lot changed for my family. You know we were doing good. We had bought our dream home, we had two new cars, our kids were happy and healthy, and my youngest son was playing on a travel baseball team. We were traveling everywhere (which I absolutely love to do) with people we truly enjoyed spending time with. Life was good and were blessed to be able to do what we were doing. Then, the bottom dropped out and kinda has continued to do so. Our youngest son was diagnosed with epilepsy and I lost my job. With the job loss, came extreme financial difficulty. I did receive unemployment benefits, but let’s face it wasn’t enough. The struggle with my son’s disease has been difficult. It has taken almost two years to find the right medication to keep the seizures under control. The meds are horrible. It has been an emotional roller coaster to say the least. So, we have huge medical bills on top of this. So, we had to give up our home and our cars to survive. Surviving has still been difficult. We have literally been without food and not able to pay our bills. The funny thing about this is when hard times hit, our families stepped out. They quit speaking to us, I assume too afraid we would ask for something. We did, we had to. Turned down. I asked my kids grandfather for help with some groceries, he said no. Now, the funny thing about this is our families have money!! I’m talking millionaire uncles!! No joke. My kids own grandparents and aunts will not come and see them or call and check on them. Now, WTF?? I am just at a loss. I truly don’t understand. Now, you are probably thinking, what did I/we do to them?? Believe me, I have asked myself that question a million times. I can’t come up with anything that remotely constitutes that behavior. You know, they could have helped us financially, they DO have the resources, but was a little moral support to much to ask? Nobody knows how much I could have used a receptive ear or a hug, something. So, the word family. What does it mean to you? To me, it’s hard to find “TRUE” family. I don’t think it always has to be blood relation. It just needs to be someone who is there for you. Hey, if you are reading this and don’t hate me for it. Then maybe you are part of my family!! 😊. I’m just a big ray of freakin sunshine tonight, huh? Sorry, I have been needing to say this for a while. Thanks for humoring me and thanks for listening. I’ll go search for some funny pics now to lighten the mood. πŸ˜‰πŸ’œ. MAM.

20120831-205906.jpg

Leave a Reply

